College Awards 2019 – Results

Eleven days ago the annual College Awards Formal took place at the Business School! Part of the formal was an awards ceremony where the winners of various awards were revealed. Here are some photos from the event, as well as all the winners!

Impression from the drinks reception.

After a drinks reception on the terrace, all formal attendees came together in a lecture theatre where the College Principal Glenn McGregor and GCR President Tom Pitts each said a few welcoming words.


Then, the first awards were revealed; these were special awards given by the college staff:

  • Principal’s Award: Vera Bieber
  • College Management Team’s Special Recognition Award: Kristine Kivle & Joe Farrow (absent)


Afterwards, it was time to reveal the highly anticipated results of the online voting process that all Ustinov students could participate in. If you need a recap, here are all nominations! And the winners were:

  • Outstanding Contribution by an Individual to College Life (PhD Student): Kimberley Liu (absent)
  • Outstanding Contribution by an Individual to College Life (Master Student): Susanna (Sumien) Deetlefs
  • Undercover Hero: Matthew Roberts
  • Outstanding Contribution by a Non-Ustinovian to College Life: Zeyu Li
  • Friendliest Bar Staff Member: James O’Neill
  • Most Enthusiastic Dancer: Benjamin Ceaser
  • Best Ustinov Chef: Giorgio Manzoni
  • Best Non-Competitive College Group: Hairstyles & Lifestyles Society
  • Outstanding Contribution to Life at Dryburn: Maureen Midgley (absent)


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Finally came the part of the evening that the many Ustinov teams that had come to the formal were looking forward to the most – the reveal of the Most Valuable Players of all our teams, chosen by the respective captains! You can read the descriptions here.

  • Badminton: Winnie Yau
  • Basketball men: Yang Li
  • Basketball women: Helena Nandi Formentin
  • Football men A: Sam Baker
  • Football men B: Yusuke Sasaki
  • Football women: Laura Campbell
  • Hockey men: Galen Lau
  • Hockey women: Laura Seddon
  • Table Tennis: Baohui Liang
  • Ultimate Frisbee: Kat Berg
  • Volleyball: Xinxin Yan
  • Pool A: Oliver Wales
  • Pool B: Vinay Utham
  • Pool C: Tom Lennie
Group photo with all present MVPs. From left to right: Vera Bieber (Clubs & Socs Officer), Vinay Utham (Pool B MVP), Xinxin Yan (Volleyball MVP), Baohui Liang (Table Tennis MVP), Glenn McGregor (College Principal), Laura Seddon (Women’s Hockey MVP), Yang Li (Men’s Basketball MVP), and Tom Pitts (GCR President)

Last but not least – team trophies! The following teams were honoured:

  • Pool A – Premiership Winners (4th time in a row!)
  • Volleyball – Division 1 Winners
  • Basketball men – Division 1 Winners
  • Basketball women – Trophy Champions


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I personally had a great time at the formal and I hope everyone else did too! A special thanks to the photographer Brian D. Taylor who took all the photos shown in this post!

~ Vera, Clubs & Societies Officer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s